Hello, World!

OwenD Blog

Welcome to the personal site of Owen Drury.

Why Am I Doing This?

Good question. I live a hectic life (who doesn’t) and need help finding the time. But the idea of starting a personal site has been nagging me for months and years, and now is the right time (the fact I started writing this in August 2022 and finished in June 2023 worries me…).

Over the last 2-3 years, my life has changed dramatically. I finally feel like I’m living a life worthy of documentation, whatever that means, and things are starting to move in the direction that once felt like a pipe dream. 

Moreover, my continued pursuit of entrepreneurship means things change almost overnight, every night, and I feel getting things out of my head onto paper can do wonders for the mind.

But really, the real reason is simply: “Because I want to”.

 

Who Am I?

 

I am Owen, age 29 (June 2023). I am 5ft 6ish (shorty) and 141 lbs.

 

My life is very much centred around my passions: 

  • Entrepreneurship
  • Health & Fitness
  • Family
  • Holidays

 

And my core values:

  • Kaizen
  • Vitality
  • Warmth
  • Discipline
  • Wonder

 

My favourite hobbies are:

  • Brazilian Ju-Jitsu (or BJJ)
  • Travelling
  • Mindfulness
  • Fitness
  • Books
  • Parenting 
  • Podcasts
  • Music
  • Art
  • Family
  • Chelsea FC
  • Personal Development
  • Psychology & Human Nature
  • Creativity

 

Personality type: 

  • ENF-J – Protagonist.

 

Vocation: 

 

The Journey So Far:

Below is a very brief timeline of my life so far. I’ll start from when life ‘gets serious, that time around 18 years old when you realise you need to fend for yourself:

  • 2012: Turn 18
  • 2012 – 2017: Started a job as a quantity surveyor
  • 2017: Earned first-class degree in quantity surveying
  • 2017: Travelled America for a month and realised ‘This is life’
  • 2019: Failed work charter-ship qualification 3x times
  • 2019: 2020: Depressed and soul searching
  • 2020: Discovered Joe Rogan. Mind expanded exponentially
  • 2020: Started web design business amidst COVID
  • 2020: Quit employment, started self-employment
  • 2020: Started ODQS
  • 2022: Started Bricks & Bytes podcast
  • 2022: Started Bilt Renovation
  • 2023: Birth of my daughter Olivia

 

A Day In The Life:

As of June 2023, a (week)day in the life of me:

  • 4am:  Wake Up
  • 4-9am (‘Me-Time’ – Day Dependent): Consists of:
    • House Chores
      • Empty Dishwasher
      • Prep dinner
    • Workout
    • Mindfulness
    • BJJ
    • Passion Projects / Personal Development
    • Daughter time
  • 9am-11am: Work Time
  • 11am: Breakfast
  • 11am – 1pm: Work Time
  • 1pm – 2pm: Lunch
  • 2pm-5pm: Work Time
  • 5pm – 5.30pm: Day Shutdown
  • 5.30pm – 8pm: Dinner & Family Time
  • 7pm-8pm: Wind down with family
  • 8pm(ish): Lights out

 

A To The Point Summary Of Me

That’s as much as I feel I will share right now without boring you (and myself) to death. 

If you got this far, thank you! Here’s a present. My high-school band’s pages from 2010: